Thor – the Movie

I remember when I was a kid. Like all little boys I could not get enough from Comics, much to the chagrin of my parents, and of course with every comic my fantasy got the best of me. I always wanted to be the Superhero, the one that the girls pine for. Superman was out of the question because I had a problem with gravity, and Batman as well because I was not allowed to leave the house after dark – I tell you my childhood was tough. Hulk I thought was too ugly and as a green monster I could not get the girls.

But there was one that has always been my hero – THOR, the thunder god; I could identify myself with him.

One day my kindergarten sweetheart was not allowed to come out and play and I decided to rescue her from the evil hands of Loki (her evil father). A man’s word is his bond, I took my mom’s best table cloth, a brooch (an heirloom from her grandma), hey I needed a cape after all, and my dad’s sledgehammer. All armed and ready to take on evil I ran out of the house right into our neighbor’s brand-new car where I made a huge dent.

By Odin that was the end of my Superhero career.

Like many others, growing older I learned all about ancient history and their “Gods” in High school and pictured Asgard (the home of the Nordic Gods) as a Spartan place all gray.

With that expectation I went to the movies to watch the new Marvel /Paramountmovie “Thor”. One thing upfront 3D is a must on this movie. I don’t believe that the entire setting comes out quite as good in 2D as it does in 3D.

Director Kenneth Branagh, movie fans know him for “Henry V”, “Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein”, “Hamlet”, or “Valkyrie”, definitely changed my views on Asgard.

Unfortunately he did not use a lot of fantasy and copied many issues and topics from other movies. He took from Star Wars the opulence, from Stargate the idea of the heritage of the ancient Gods (not Gods but rather superior aliens), and a little bit of “Kate and Leopold (the displaced man from the past).

The costumes were excellent, the architecture of the Asgard universe typical Branagh Style opulent with a streak of Shakespeare.

The movie has everything a good adventure needs. A cute and sweet scientist, a good looking hero, some funny friends, the evil and always jealous brother who turns out not to be a real brother, but stolen during a raid and so becomes the traitor, and not even the evil almighty American federal Agents are missing – you know the guys with the dark sunglasses, no sense of humor, a fake name of a top secret Government institution, and almighty governmental power.

The Story is simple: the quite immature and egomaniac Thor almost risks the “weapons hold status” with an enemy world, some real evil, and an ugly looking ice people. All-father Odin casts him out and sends him to Exile on earth.

Not without sending his hammer Mjölnir after him, casting the same with the oath that the hammer is only allowed to come back to Thor when he appears worthy.

It comes as it had to come, Thor is on earth highly misplaced which leads to a lot of funny scenes and a tender love story.

As far as the cast goes:

Chris Hemsworth as Thor did a marvelous job. He was omnipresent, and very sympatric. He definitely outplayed everybody. A natural acting talent we definitely will hear a lot more from. And he even managed to prevail almost equal to the great Sir A. Hopkins, which sure shows his talent and capacity.

Sir Anthony Hopkins as all-father Odin is in a class of his own; he is an excellent character actor, with a presence that is nowhere else to be found. Even if he plays “only” supporting cast, like here, he is the carrying pillar of the movie. No matter if he is mad and mean like a raging godfather or soft and gentle like a loving grandfather; I don’t know anybody else who can show so many facets of his capability.

Natalie Portman as Dr. Jane Foster was very disappointing. She never ran up to her full ability. Knowing her from Star Wars or Black Swan, in this movie she was never really authentic as a scientist. During the entire movie she came across more like a displaced girl with a master’s degree. In my opinion she was outplayed by everybody else and not the center of the movie as she should have been.

Tom Hiddleston did a great job as evil and yet a tattered Loki. His battle of jealousy turning into hatred leading to betrayal and finally evil was excellently portrayed by Tom Hiddleston. An Actor to be watched and if he plays his cards right we will hear some more from him.

The supporting cast from Rene Russo as Frigga (Thor’s mother) to Thor’s friends, beautiful and talented Jaimie Alexander as Sif (makes Xena look like a dumb chick with sword), and Josh Dallas as Fandral did a great job.

Overall, a good family movie that manages 2 hours of a great mix of Magic, Science Fiction, action, comedy, and a love story.

I am happy to say that the movie is without foul language or sex and the most naked skin to be seen is topless Thor in jeans. The movie also managed to have 2 hours of action, blasting lightning, battle scenes, and rumbling without bloodthirsty moments and cruel brutality.

I think the movie has something for everybody, for boys and daddies the action, for mommies and young girls the love story: Only the monsters from the “Ice-world” could cause some nightmares if one of your kids is a little tender and easily scared. Other than that it is a whole lot of fun and definitely worth the money.

If I could give Stars I would give this movie 4 of 5

Have fun and enjoy the movie

2 responses

  1. […] These are good for those who want a lot of different information without having to search the internet aimlessly, and these On this subject see: http://phoenixwoman.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/useful-idiot/ Further you can see this related post: http://mccannexposure.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/iaea-says-fukushima-fallout-warrants-more-evacuation/ Also you can take a look at this related read: http://hotsportstopics101.com/2011/04/03/my-easter-card-message-to-all-of-the-world-associated-content-from-yahoo-associatedcontent-com/ Additionally you can look at this related post: http://nurturingchampions.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/inner-witness-as-manifestation-of-gods-voice-2/ For more on this topic you can read: http://verticalthought.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/what-place-is-safe/ Also you can check out this related blog post: http://cynthiabrennenlmsw.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/dream-momma-is-back/ Also you can read this related blog page: http://diaryofcs.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/null-x/ On the same subject: http://puzzlebox.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/deactivation/ Related to this you can read: http://faithinthefireministries.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/official-handbook-onhow-to-fleece-the-flock-for-fun-and-profit/ Additionally you can look at this related post: http://jordys1212.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/malachi-5-2/ Anyone can also check out this related post: http://robotanists.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/nice-things-to-say/ You can also read the following related post: https://tclehner.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/thor-%E2%80%93-the-movie/ […]

  2. Michaela Brandner | Reply

    Great post but my favorite is “By Odin that was the end of my Superhero career.” Okay Thor you have saved my day with this great funny post! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

